Blocking will remove a contact from your Community and prevent them from sending or receiving messages. When you block someone the contact does not receive an unsubscribe message. This contact can not rejoin the Community they were blocked from (nothing will happen when they text the number).
Please double check that you actually want to block someone before doing so. This action cannot be reversed.